John Sear

John Sear

"Persons of distinction who have contributed to the advancement of intravenous anaesthesia are eligible for election as Honorary Members on the nomination of the committee"

Prof John Sear

John William Sear was born and educated at the Grammar School in Enfield, Middlesex.

Having achieved first class honours in his BSc Biochemistry studies he graduated in Medicine at the London Hospital in 1972.   He decided, after a short dalliance with Obstetrics & Gynaecology (DRCoG 1974), to pursue a career in anaesthetics gaining his FFARCS in 1977.  Almost immediately he found his way into academia by taking up an MRC Training Fellowship in the Departments of Anaesthesia and Biochemistry at the University of Bristol. Once this was completed he stayed in Bristol as Lecturer in Anaesthetics and was awarded PhD for his thesis entitled 'The metabolism of steroid intravenous anaesthetic agents and their modification by liver disease' in 1981. He then joined the Nuffield Department in Oxford as Reader in 1982 with a Fellowship at Green College. He was Honorary Consultant Anaesthetist at the John Radcliffe Hospital and was awarded the title of Professor by Distinction at the NDA in 2002.

John’s research interests included studies in the pharmacokinetics of hypnotic and analgesic drugs (including several then new agents including etomidate; initial studies of infusions of althesin (alphaxalone/alphadolone acetate), minaxolone, eltanolone; and alfentanil) with a particular interest in drug handling in patients with renal failure or liver disease. In addition he investigated the roles of molecular shape and electrostatic potentials as factors relating to the anaesthetic potency of iv and volatile anaesthetic agents; as well as on the cardiovascular effects and disposition kinetics of intravenous agents. Together with others in the Nuffield Department he studied the association between hypertension, myocardial ischaemia, drug therapies and cardiovascular outcomes.

As an enthusiastic exponent of intravenous anaesthesia John was founding Treasurer of the Society for Intravenous Anaesthesia (UK) in 1997 and President from 1999 to 2002. He presided over the Annual Scientific Meeting held in Oxford in 2002, and remains an ex-officio committee member. He was an elected member of the Board of Directors of the Society for Intravenous Anesthesia (now the International Society of Anesthetic Pharmacology) from 1998-2003, and President 2002-2003.

John retired from clinical anaesthesia and from the University of Oxford in 2010, but continues to teach graduate entry medical students at Green Templeton College as well as the MSc Course in Experimental Therapeutics. In recognition of his enormous contribution to clinical research in intravenous anaesthesia over the years, and to the Society for Intravenous Anaesthesia, John was awarded Honorary Membership of the Society at its Annual Scientific Meeting held in Edinburgh in November 2012.



Dr Douglas Russell - 30th November 2012